Accessories are your Best Friends

Being a student and also one of those who cannot afford to buy a new coat every winter or buy clothes of the moment (even though places such as boohoo, H&M and Zara can make it slightly possible) we are more likely to be dressing in the same way as our friends, neighbours, work colleagues; everyone ends up copying everyone else until eventually we all look alike. However with the addition of accessories you can pull together an otherwise boring and unimaginative outfit into something a little more out there, a little more adventurous, a little more, well… you.

I am going to start a series on here each week dedicated to accessories, with hints, tips and the kind of accessories I like to look out for.

This week is all about BELTS!

I used to never wear belts, never ever. That was until I started to grow up and look at the kind of clothes that I was wearing and I began edging over to high waisted territory. I think almost 95% of my trousers, jeans, skirts and shorts are high waisted, and I find this style very flattering for my body shape. Unfortunately, a cheap belt made of awful plastic, fading and aged metal or a weary piece of leather can make anything look cheap and unpleasant to the eye. 

The best belts to opt for are those made of FABRIC, such as canvas belts similar to those you find on army uniforms. Nothing can save cheap leather so STAY AWAY! A belt is essential in helping give your body shape and for keeping those trousers up, of course. 

A high quality leather belt can modernise a bargain basement dress, a straight cut dress can be feminised with a chunky elastic belt and a masculine belt can cinch in a classic trench.

RULE: Do not be stingy when it comes to belts; it is better to have a small collection of good quality belts, rather than hundreds of shabby, cheap belts hiding all over the place. Shabby cheap does not equal shabby chic!

 

Hope you’ve had a great day wherever you are and this post was of interest to you. Make sure to follow me on Twitter @EmmaLouWagstaff and Instagram @Ooh_loula to be kept up with the latest info on here. 

 

Take care,

Emma-Lou x

4 thoughts on “Accessories are your Best Friends

    1. oohloula says:

      Thank you for your kind comment. Make sure to follow so you stay tuned for the next instalment on Wednesday. I’ve got another post headed up on Sunday also! x

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog, it really means the world to me when you post a comment and I do reply to everyone. xxx

